This is another post in a Q-&A series in which we answer a question related to California employers’ duty to provide employees with 10-miute rest breaks.
Effective January 1, 2015, the minimum wage in San Francisco increased to $11.05 per hour. The increase is a result of the November 2014 ballot measure Proposition J that was overwhelmingly approved by San Francisco residents in November 2014. Proposition J is intended to gradually increase San Francisco’s minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2018.
Beginning January 1, 2014, all employers must pay to each employee who performs work in San Francisco (including temporary and part-time employees) wages not less than $10.74 per hour.
The increase is a continued effort of the legislative measure passed by the San Francisco voters ten years ago.
California Limits Prevailing Employers’ Ability to Recover Attorney’s Fees in Unpaid Compensation Cases
By definition, wage-and-hour litigation is about the money and ability to recover attorney’s fees has always been a driving force behind any employment lawsuit.
During the past few years, the issue of whether employees’ waiting or on-call time should be considered compensable hours has been the subject of much litigation in California and federal courts. The problem is especially important for employees who work in the security industry (e.g. security guards).
Applicability of the Motor Carrier Act Exemption to California Bus Drivers for Purposes of Federal Overtime Pay.
In one of the previous posts, we discussed how some commercial bus drivers may be exempt from California overtime laws under Industrial Welfare Commission Wage Order No. 9 section 3(L). It is crucial to keep in mind that in addition to state law, hours and days of work of commercial bus drivers are also regulated by federal law, namely, the Federal Standard Labor Act of 1938 (“FLSA”.)